# ULSTER COUNTY RESOURCE RECOVERY AGENCY 2013 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

# January 24, 2013

The 2013 annual meeting of the Ulster County Resource Recovery Agency was called to order on January 24, 2012 at 3:30 PM by Leon Smith. Present were Members Leon Smith, Al Teetsel, Catherine Nilsen, Charles Landi and Dominic Tagliafierro. Agency staff members present were Executive Director Tim Rose, Counsel Kenneth Gilligan, and Controller Tim DeGraff, Operations Manager Charles Whittaker and Recycling Coordinator Michelle Bergkamp. Confidential Executive Secretary, Kelly Utter was absent.

Public attending the annual meeting were Legislator Kevin Roberts, Abel Garrigan and reporter Bill Kemble.

After the pledge of allegiance, Kenneth Gilligan announced that among the purposes of the meeting were the election of officers and the establishment of the date and time of the regular monthly meeting of the Agency.

**Leon Smith** was nominated for the office of Chairman by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Al Teetsel. Leon Smith was duly elected Chairman by a vote of **4 in favor 0 opposed and 1 abstain**.

**Catherine Nilsen** was nominated to serve as Vice-Chairman by Leon Smith. The nomination was seconded by Charles Landi. Catherine Nilsen was duly elected Vice-Chairman by a vote of **5 in favor 0 opposed**.

**Al Teetsel** was nominated to serve as Treasurer by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Catherine Nilsen. Al Teetsel was duly elected Treasurer by a vote of **5** in favor **0** opposed.

**Kenneth Gilligan** was nominated to serve as Secretary by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Catherine Nilsen. Kenneth Gilligan was duly elected Secretary by a vote of **5 in favor 0 opposed**.

The next order of business is the establishment of the date and time of the regular monthly meeting. Al Teetsel would like to make the motion to hold the monthly board meeting at 5:00pm or later. Charles Landi seconded the motion for discussion. Leon Smith opened the matter for discussion. Charles Landi stated that he had two areas of concern. The Ulster County Legislature is in the process of changing the composition of the Agency board to possibly 7 or 9 additional members. Kevin Roberts stated that a change to the structure of the Agency board would not be something that happens quickly if at all. Kenneth Gilligan said the process could take up to a year.

Charles Landi was also concerned about compensatory time. If the meetings are held later in the day, what employees would be affected by staying the extra hours. Tim Rose told the board that he, Tim

DeGraff and Charles Whittaker are exempt and the only employees that would be affected were Michelle Bergkamp and Kelly Utter.

A vote to change the board meeting time to 5:00pm commenced: Aye: 2 (Al Teetsel and Catherine Nilsen) Nay: 2 (Leon Smith and Charles Landi) Abstain: 1 (Dominic Tagliafierro). Monthly board meeting will remain on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday of the month at 3:30pm.

# **AUDIT COMMITTEE**

Chairman Smith recommended Charles Landi to Chair the Audit Committee and Al Teetsel and Dominic Tagliafierro to be members of the committee. Charles Landi declined the position of chair due to being locked in negotiations with the employee's labor union. Dominic was asked to Chair the committee and he requested an explanation of what is expected. Tim DeGraff stated that the Auditing Committee is simply a liaison between the yearly auditors and the Board.

Audit Committee: Chair, Dominic Tagliafierro, Al Teetsel and Charles Landi.

#### FINANCE COMMITTEE

Leon Smith recommended Al Teetsel to be Chair and Dominic Tagliafierro and Catherine Nilsen to be members of the committee.

Finance Committee: Chair Al Teetsel, Dominic Tagliafierro and Catherine Nilsen.

# **GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE**

The Board as a whole will serve on this committee.

# **RECYCLING OVERSIGHT**

Charles Landi will serve as the recycling oversight.

# **UNION NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE**

Charles Landi is the board representative on the committee. He reports to the board during executive session regarding the contract negotiations.

The business of the 2013 annual meeting having been concluded, Al Teetsel moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was seconded by Charles Landi. The motion was approved with 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

Whereupon, the annual meeting was adjourned at 3:55 PM.

The above trans	scribed Minutes of the January 24, 2013 Annual Meeting were _	UNANIMOUSLY
APPROVED	_ by the Board.	
Date:	February 20, 2013	