ULSTER COUNTY RESOURCE RECOVERY AGENCY 2016 ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES <u>February 24, 2016</u>

The Ulster County Resource Recovery Agency held an Annual Organizational Board Meeting on February 24, 2016 at 999 Flatbush Road, Kingston, Town of Ulster, NY.

The proceedings were convened at 4:00 PM.

<u>OATH OF OFFICE:</u> Kenneth Gilligan preformed the Oath of Office for the new Board Members which included Brian Devine, Fred Wadnola and Jack Hayes.

The following Board members were present: Brian Devine, Fred Wadnola, Charles Landi, Jack Hayes and David Gordon.

Also present were: Executive Director Timothy Rose; Counsel Kenneth Gilligan; Controller Tim DeGraff; Operations Manager Charlie Whittaker; Recycling Coordinator Merlyn Akhtar; Compliance Officer Tom Briggs (excused), and Administrative Assistant Melinda France.

From the Public: William Kemble from the Daily Freeman, Al Teetsel, and Kenneth Ronk, Jr., Chairman of the Ulster County Legislature.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Kenneth Gilligan asked if there were any nominations for Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary.

Fred Wadnola was nominated for the office of **Chairman** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Jack Hayes. Fred Wadnola was duly elected Chairman by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 absent.

David Gordon was nominated to serve as **Vice-Chairman** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Brian Devine. David Gordon was duly elected Vice-Chairman by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 absent.

Charles Landi was nominated to serve as **Treasurer** by Jack Hayes. The nomination was seconded by Fred Wadnola. Charles Landi was duly elected Treasurer by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 absent.

Kenneth Gilligan was nominated to serve as **Secretary** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Jack Hayes. Kenneth Gilligan was duly elected Secretary by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 absent.

MOTION to close nominations and to elect slate of officers as nominated was made by Charles Landi and seconded by Jack Hayes. <u>VOTE:</u> AYES <u>5</u> NAYS <u>0</u>

The next order of business is the establishment of the date and time of the regular monthly meeting.

The Board allowed Al Teetsel to make a comment about the Board meeting times. Al Teetsel stated that the Board meetings should stay at 5:00 PM because it gives the public time to come to a meeting. He believes 5:00 PM is a reasonable time.

The regular monthly Board meetings will be held on the 4th Wednesday of the month at 5:00 PM which puts the next meeting on March 23, 2016.

MOTION to set the regular monthly Board meetings was made by Charles Landi and seconded by David Gordon. 5 in favor. 0 opposed. 0 absent.

APPOINT BOARD COMMITTEES:

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Fred Wadnola recommended that Brian Devine Chair the Audit Committee. David Gordon and Fred Wadnola will serve as members of the committee as well.

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Fred Wadnola recommended that the Board as a whole should serve on the Governance Committee just as it had.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Fred Wadnola recommended Charles Landi remain as the Chair of the Finance Committee with David Gordon and Jack Hayes to be members of the committee.

RECYCLING OVERSIGHT

Fred Wadnola recommended that Charles Landi remain on the Recycling Oversight Committee.

The business of the February 24, 2016, Annual Organizational Meeting having been concluded, Ken Gilligan motioned that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was moved by Charles Landi; seconded by Jack Hayes. The motion was approved with 5 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 absent.

Whereupon, the Annual Organizational Meeting was adjourned at 4:21 PM.

The above transcribed Minutes of the February 24, 2016 Annual Organizational Meeting were moved by Charles Landi and seconded by Brian Devine. 4 in favor. None opposed. 1 absent (HAYES). The Minutes were APPROVED by the Board.

Date: March 23, 2016