ULSTER COUNTY RESOURCE RECOVERY AGENCY

ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 24, 2018

The Ulster County Resource Recovery Agency held an Annual Organizational Board Meeting on January 24, 2018 at 999 Flatbush Road, Kingston, Town of Ulster, NY.

The proceedings were convened at 11:30 AM.

The following Board members were present: Chairman Fred Wadnola; Vice Chairman David Gordon; Treasurer Charles Landi; Member Jack Hayes (arrived at 11:33 AM); and Member Brian Devine.

Also present were: Executive Director Timothy Rose; Counsel / Secretary Kenneth Gilligan; Controller Tim DeGraff; Operations Manager Charlie Whittaker; Recycling Coordinator Merlyn Akhtar; Compliance Officer Tom Briggs; and Administrative Assistant Melinda France.

From the public: William Kemble from the Daily Freeman; Laura Petit, Ulster County Legislator; Manna Jo Greene, Ulster County Legislator; Jim Maloney, Ulster County Legislator; Tracey Bartels, Ulster County Legislator; Ken Ronk, Chairman of the Ulster County Legislature; Mark Swyka, VP of Cornerstone; Rob Sochovka, Client Manager of Cornerstone; John Giuliano, Environmental Scientist of Cornerstone; Rick McCarthy, President of Capital Environmental; Edward McAndrew, Commissioner of Sullivan County DPW; Luis Alvarez, Sullivan County Legislator; Joshua Potosek, Sullivan County Manager; Joe Perrellu, Sullivan County Legislator; Mark McCarthy, Sullivan County Legislator; Donna Eggin, Director of Solid Waste of Sullivan County; Kevin Lewis, Greene County Chairman and Shaun Groden, Greene County Administrator.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Fred Wadnola asked if there were any nominations for Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary.

Fred Wadnola was nominated for the office of **Chairman** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Brian Devine. Fred Wadnola was duly elected Chairman by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed; 1 absent (HAYES).

David Gordon was nominated to serve as **Vice-Chairman** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Fred Wadnola. David Gordon was duly elected Vice-Chairman by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed; 1 absent (HAYES).

Charles Landi was nominated to serve as **Treasurer** by Fred Wadnola. The nomination was seconded by Brian Devine. Charles Landi was duly elected Treasurer by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed; 0 absent.

Kenneth Gilligan was nominated to serve as **Secretary** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Jack Hayes. Kenneth Gilligan was duly elected Secretary by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed; 0 absent.

MOTION to close nominations and to elect slate of officers as nominated was made by Charles Landi and seconded by Brian Devine. **VOTE:** AYES <u>5</u> NAYS <u>0</u>

The next order of business is the establishment of the date and time of the regular monthly meeting. The regular monthly Board meetings will be held on the 4th Wednesday of the month at 12:00 PM which puts the next meeting on **February 28, 2018.**

MOTION to set the regular monthly Board meetings was made by Fred Wadnola and seconded by Charles Landi. 5 in favor, 0 opposed; 0 absent.

APPOINT BOARD COMMITTEES:

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Fred Wadnola recommended that Brian Devine Chair the Audit Committee. David Gordon and Fred Wadnola will serve as members of the committee as well.

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Fred Wadnola recommended that the Board as a whole should serve on the Governance Committee just as it has.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Fred Wadnola recommended Charles Landi remain as the Chair of the Finance Committee with David Gordon and Jack Hayes to be members of the committee.

RECYCLING OVERSIGHT

Fred Wadnola recommended that Charles Landi remain on the Recycling Oversight Committee.

ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

Resolution #2431 Re: Approved Vendors

Fred Wadnola moved to the floor **Resolution #2431.** Motion to vote was made by Fred Wadnola and seconded by Charles Landi. 5 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 absent.

ADJOURN

Fred Wadnola motioned to adjourn the January 24, 2018 Annual Organizational Meeting. The motion was moved by Brian Devine; seconded by Jack Hayes. 5 in favor, 0 opposed; 0 absent.

Whereupon, the Annual Organizational Meeting was adjourned at 11:40 AM.

The above transcribed Minutes of the January 24, 2018 Annual Organizational Meeting were moved by Charles Landi and seconded by Jack Hayes. 4 in favor. None opposed. 1 absent (Wadnola). The Minutes were APPROVED by the Board.

Date: February 28, 2017