ULSTER COUNTY RESOURCE RECOVERY AGENCY ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 24, 2022

The Ulster County Resource Recovery Agency held an Annual Organizational Board Meeting on January 24, 2022. This meeting was held virtual only via Webex.

The proceedings were convened at 12:12 PM.

The following Board members were present: Chair Katherine Beinkafner, Vice Chair JoAnne Myers (absent due to technical difficulties), Treasurer Charles Landi, Member Lisa Mitten, and Member Tom Kacandes.

Also present were: Counsel/Secretary Kenneth Gilligan, Executive Director/Controller Tim DeGraff, Director of Operations and Compliance Charlie Whittaker, Director of Sustainability Angelina Brandt, and Office Manager Melinda France.

From the public: Reporter Bill Kemble from the Daily Freeman, Reporter Brian Hubert from Hudson Valley One News, Reporter Hank Gross from Mid-Hudson News, Ulster County Legislator Manna Jo Greene, Ulster County Legislator Phil Erner, and Ulster County Comptroller March Gallagher.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Kenneth Gilligan asked if there were any nominations for Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary.

Katherine Beinkafner was nominated for the office of **Chair** by Lisa Mitten. The nomination was seconded by Tom Kacandes.

Roll Call Vote
Beinkafner: Aye
Landi: Aye
Mitten: Aye
Kacandes: Aye
Myers: Abstention

Katherine Beinkafner was duly elected Chair by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS).

JoAnne Myers was nominated to serve as Vice-Chair by Charles Landi.

Roll Call Vote
Beinkafner: Aye
Landi: Aye
Mitten: Aye

Kacandes: Aye Myers: Abstention

JoAnne Myers was duly elected Vice-Chair by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS).

Charles Landi was nominated to serve as **Treasurer** by Lisa Mitten. The nomination was seconded by Katherine Beinkafner.

Roll Call Vote
Beinkafner: Aye
Landi: Aye
Mitten: Aye
Kacandes: Aye
Myers: Abstention

Charles Landi was duly elected Treasurer by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS).

Kenneth Gilligan was nominated to serve as **Secretary** by Charles Landi. The nomination was seconded by Lisa Mitten.

Roll Call Vote
Beinkafner: Aye
Landi: Aye
Mitten: Aye
Kacandes: Aye
Myers: Abstention

Kenneth Gilligan was duly elected Secretary by a vote of 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS).

ESTABLISH REGULAR MONTHLY BOARD MEETING DATE AND TIME

The Board established regular monthly Board meeting date to be set for the third Monday of each month at 12:00PM.

Kenneth Gilligan motioned to vote. 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS)

<u>APPOINTMENT OF BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS</u>-the Board will keep the Committees the same as last year except for, Tom Kacandes, who will be added to the Recycling Oversight Committee with Charles Landi.

ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

Resolution #2561 Re: Authorizing and Approving the 2022 Approved Vendors List

Tim DeGraff explained that this resolution has been done for the past five or six years. It doesn't supersede the Agency's procurement policy, but adds an extra layer for situations like emergency or safety related situations. He stated this is not required. He stated this gives the staff an established vendor it has to go through.

Katherine Beinkafner added that the vendor list is attached to the resolution as the second page.

Tom Kacandes thanked Tim DeGraff for putting this resolution together because it was very useful.

Charles Landi motioned to approve Resolution #2561 RE: Authorizing and Approving the 2022 Approved Vendors List. Seconded by Lisa Mitten. 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS).

ADJOURN

Motion to adjourn the January 24, 2022 Annual Organizational Meeting at 12:23 PM was made by Charles Landi and seconded by Tom Kacandes. 4 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention (MYERS).

February 22, 2021
Motion to approve the above transcribed Minutes of the January 24, 2022 Annual Organizational Meeting made by , moved by . in favor, $\underline{0}$ opposed, $\underline{0}$ absent. Absent: $\underline{N/A}$
The Minutes were approved by the Board.
Transcribed by: Melinda France, Office Manager. Meetings are recorded and available at www.ucrra.org/about-us/board-of-directors-meetings-minutes/ .
Signatures:
Katherine Beinkafner, Chair
Ken Gilligan, Secretary
Melinda France, Office Manager