# ULSTER COUNTY RESOURCE RECOVERY AGENCY ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 25, 2024

The Ulster County Resource Recovery Agency held an Annual Organizational Board Meeting on January 25, 2024.

The proceedings were convened at 6:00 PM by who was Chair prior to election of officers.

**Board members present**: Chair Andrew Ghiorse, Vice Chair James Gordon, Treasurer Regis Obijiski, Member Donna Egan and Member David Gilmour.

**Staff present**: Counsel/Secretary Kenneth Gilligan, Interim Executive Director Anna Roppolo, Director of Finance and Administration Tim DeGraff, Director of Sustainability Angelina Brandt and Office Manager Melinda France

From the public: Ulster County Legislators Laura Petit and Manna Jo Greene.

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

### **CHAIR**

Andrew Ghiorse nominated Regis Obijiski as Chair and it was seconded by James Gordon. 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

Andrew Ghiorse handed his position over to Regis Obijiski. He stated he was stepping down due to medical issues. The Board thanked him for his work as Chair.

## VICE CHAIR

Andrew Ghiorse nominated James Gordon as Vice Chair and it was seconded by Regis Obijiski. 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

#### **TREASURER**

Andrew Ghiorse nominated Regis Obijiski as Treasurer and it was seconded by James Gordon. 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

Regis Obijiski stated if someone else was interested he would introduce some of the concepts of being the Treasurer.

#### **SECRETARY**

**Regis Obijiski** made a motion that **Kenneth Gilligan** be nominated to serve as **Secretary. Andrew Ghiorse** moved the motion, and it was seconded by **James Gordon**. 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

## ESTABLISH REGULAR MONTHLY BOARD MEETING DATE AND TIME

James Gordon made a motion to establish a regular monthly Board meeting date to be set for the fourth Thursday of each month at 6:00 PM; and it was seconded by Andrew Ghiorse. 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

<u>APPOINTMENT OF BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS</u>- The Board agreed to the following appointments:

Audit Committee: Regis Obijiski will be Chair of the Audit Committee and Members will Andrew Ghiorse and Donna Egan.

**Finance Committee**: Regis Obijiski will be Chair of the Finance Committee and Members will be David Gilmour and Donna Egan.

**Governance Committee:** James Gordon will be Chair of the Governance Committee and Members will be Andrew Ghiorse and David Gilmour.

**Zero Waste Committee:** Donna Egan will be Chair and Members included the whole Board. David Gilmour made a motion to include the Board as a whole, in the Zero Waste Committee. VOTE: 5 in favor; 0 opposed.

Recycling Oversight Committee: Donna Egan will be the Committee Member

## DISCUSSION

Andrew Ghiorse announced to the Board and staff that he was stepping down and resigning as the representative for the Legislative Reform Committee due to medical issues.

James Gordon moved to accept Andrew Ghiorse's resignation, and it was seconded by Regis Obijiski. 5 in favor, 0 opposed.

Regis Obijiski appointed James Gordon as the representative to the Reform Committee.

### COMMUNICATION AND ANNOUCEMENTS

- A Governance Committee Meeting has been scheduled for February 13, 2024, at 5:45 PM.
- A Regular Board Meeting has been scheduled for February 29, 2024, at 6:00 PM.

## **ADJOURN**

Regis Obijiski made a motion to adjourn the January 25, 2024, Annual Organizational Meeting at 6:11 PM and seconded by Andrew Ghiorse. 5 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 absent.

February 29, 2024

Motion to approve the above transcribed Minutes of the January 25, 2024 Annual Organizational Meeting was made by , seconded by . in favor, opposed, absent.

The Minutes were approved by the Board.

Transcribed by: Melinda France, Office Manager.

Signatures:

Regis Obijiski, Chair

Ken Gilligan, Secretary

